Monday, 7 November 2011

The Teachings of Islam

The teaching of Islam are based on the Quran, the last of the great religious books following the Torah (Tourat) of Hazrat Musa (AS), the Psalms (Zuboor) of Hazrat Daud (AS) and the Testament (Injeel) of Hazrat Isa (AS). It conains God's commands and supersedes all the earlier books. Islam is based on five 'pillars' which uphold the faith:

(a) Testimony (shahadah). Every one must belive that there is only one God, Allah, who is all-powerful and knows everything. He created everything that exist, and Muhammad (PBUH) is His prophit.

(b) Pray (Salat). Muslims must pray formally five times each day. When they pray they must be clean in both and mind and must face the Kaaba.

(c) Pilgrimage (hajj). Every Muslim has to make a pilgrimage to Makkah at last once in a lifetime, providing that they have the health and financial resources. They should also make sacrifice. Those who cannot make the journey themselves owing to ill health or other valid reasons may have someone else do it for them.

(d) Fasting (sawm). In the holy month of Ramadan, Muslims must not eat
or drink anything between just before dawn and sunset.

(e) Giving alms (zakat). Every eligible Muslims must give a certain proportion of income to the community as an act of charity.

No comments:

Post a Comment